A total of 97 players have now confirmed their place at Royal Troon for this year's The 152nd Open Championship.

Hundreds of the world's best golfers will descend on South Ayrshire from July 14 to 21, to compete for one of the biggest prizes in the sport. 

Some big names have already been confirmed for the event through exemptions, including past winners of The Open, The Masters and other high profile tournaments. 

These include last year's open champion Brian Harman, masters winner John Rahm, PGA rankings leader Scottie Scheffler and home favourite Robert MacIntyre.

Troon most recently staged the Championship in 2016, when Henrik Stenson prevailed in a stunning duel with Phil Mickelson.

For a full list of the players confirmed so far, go to www.theopen.com/royal-troon-152nd-open.