AYR United's Championship fixture list for the 2023-24 season has been confirmed.

The SPFL released the fixtures for the Championship, Premiership, League One and League Two on Friday morning.

Lee Bullen's men will be hoping to go one better than last season, when they reached the semi-finals of the play-offs for promotion to the Premiership - only to run out of steam and fall to a heavy defeat at the hands of Partick Thistle over two legs.

Thistle themselves then lost out to Ross County on penalties in a dramatic final.

The new league season for the Honest Men begins on Saturday, August 5 with a trip up the coast to face Morton at Cappielow.

Ayr's first home match of the Championship campaign is against Inverness on August 12, with a trip to Tannadice to face newly-relegated Dundee United two weeks later completing their opening month of league games.

The old year ends when League One champions Dunfermline Athletic come to Somerset on December 30, with the new year getting under way just three days later with Ayr's second trip of the season to Cappielow.

Ayr's final match of the regular league campaign is at home to Dunfermline on Friday, May 3.

Bullen's men start their campaign in anger in little more than two weeks' time with the first of their Viaplay Cup group fixtures on Saturday, July 15, away to Stirling Albion.

The club previously announced that Ayr's group match against Stenhousemuir, on July 18, will be played at Townhead Park, home of Cumnock Juniors, due to pitch renovations at Somerset Park.

Ayr's other Viaplay Cup ties are against St Johnstone at McDiarmid Park on Tuesday, July 25, and against Alloa on Saturday, July 29, currently still due to be played at Somerset Park.

Construction work on a new North Stand means that all Ayr's games at Somerset Park in 2023-24 will be at a three-sided stadium, with the North Terrace taken out of use to enable work to continue on the most significant upgrade to the ground since a new wing was added to the Main Stand in 1989.

Ayr's Championship fixture list for the new season is as follows.

Aug 5 v Morton (a), Aug 12 v Inverness (h), Aug 26 v Dundee United (h)

Sep 2 v Arbroath (a), Sep 16 v Partick Thistle (h), Fri Sep 22 v Queen’s Park (a), Sep 30 v Raith Rovers (h).

Oct 7 v Airdrieonians (a), Oct 21 v Dunfermline (a), Oct 28 v Morton (h), Tues Oct 31 v Partick Thistle (a).

Nov 4 v Queen’s Park (h), Nov 11 v Inverness (a).

Dec 2 v Arbroath (h), Dec 9 v Dundee United (a), Dec 16 v Airdrieonians (h), Dec 23 v Raith Rovers (a), Dec 30 v Dunfermline (h).

Tues Jan 2 v Morton (a), Jan 6 v Inverness (h), Jan 13 v Arbroath (a),Jan 27 v Queen’s Park (a).

Feb 3 v Dundee United (h), Feb 17 v Airdrieonians (a), Feb 24 v Raith Rovers (h), Tues Feb 27 v Partick Thistle (h).

March 2 v Dunfermline (a), March 9 v Morton (h), March 16 v Inverness (a), March 23 v Queen’s Park (h), March 30 v Airdrieonians (h).

April 6 v Raith Rovers (a), April 13 v Arbroath (h), April 20 v Dundee United (a), April 27 v Partick Thistle (a), Fri May 3 v Dunfermline (h).