Prime Minister Rishi Sunak has revealed the UK will go to the polls to elect a new Government in just six weeks time.

The Conservative PM announced this evening that a General Election will now be held on Thursday, July 4.

And the resulting poll could mean big changes across Ayrshire's constituencies.

Here's what we know about the upcoming election so far...

In North Ayrshire, current MP Patricia Gibson will stand once again for the SNP. At the moment, Irene Campbell for Labour and Todd Ferguson for the Conservatives have been confirmed as their party's candidates. A Liberal Democrat candidate has yet to be announced.

They could, of course, face further candidates - from other parties or independents - by the time nominations for the seat close.

At the last General Election in 2019, the SNP's Ms Gibson topped the poll with a 48.5 per cent share of the vote, with David Rocks for the Conservatives second with a 30.8 per cent share, Cameron Gilmore for Labour on 13.9 per cent, Louise Young for the Lib Dems on 4.4 per cent and David Nairn of the Green Party on 2.3 per cent.

In Central Ayrshire, current MP Dr Philippa Whitford announced some time ago that she would not be seeking re-election. Her replacement as SNP candidate has been confirmed as Annie McIndoe.

Also declared for the seat are Labour's Alan Gemmell and Conservative David Rocks.

Ayr Advertiser: Ballot box

At the 2019 election, Dr Whitford came top with a 46.2 per cent share of the vote, second was Derek Stillie for the Conservatives with a 34.8 per cent share, third was Labour's Louise McPhater with a 14.1 per cent share and Lib Dem Emma Farthing was fourth with 4.9 per cent of votes.

For Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock, sitting MP Allan Dorans will again stand for the SNP. Also standing will be former SNPMP Corri Wilson, now with the Alba Party, South Ayrshire Council leader Martin Dowey for the Conservatives, Doon Valley councillor Elaine Stewart for Labour, and the Reform Party's Andrew Russell. A Lib Dem candidate has yet to be confirmed.

At the last election, Mr Dorans won a 43.5 per cent share of the vote, with Conservative Mr Dowey on 38.5 per cent, Duncan Townson for Labour on 13.3 per cent and Lib Dem Helena Bongard on 4.6 per cent.

In the Kilmarnock and Loudoun seat, current MP Alan Brown will stand once more for the SNP. Jordan Cowie has been announced as the Conservative candidate and councillor Lillian Jones for Labour.

At the 2019 election, Mr Brown won a 50.8 per cent share of the vote, with Caroline Hollins second for the Conservatives with a 24.3 share, and Labour's Kevin McGregor third with 18.9 per cent of the vote. Liberal Democrat Edward Thornley came four with 5.1 per cent, with Stef Johnstone of the Libertarian Party picking up 0.9 per cent.

Look out for full coverage of the candidates and their election pledges in the weeks to come.