The South Ayrshire Youth Awards were held at Ayr Town Hall on Wednesday to celebrate the achievements of young people in the region.

Remarkable young people aged 11 to 25 were nominated for awards within nine categories, with three finalists from each category going forward to the awards ceremony.

The Overall Young Star was voted for on the night.

The winners were:

  • Young Volunteer - Heather Cochrane
  • Digital - Go Tree - Marr College
  • Mental Health and Wellbeing Award - Sarah Ferguson
  • Young Environmentalist Award - Prestwick Academy - Food for Future
  • Arts and Culture Award - South  Ayrshire Champions Board - Creative Writing and Film Group
  • Community Service Award - Matthew McColm
  • Skills and Development Award - Kyle Academy TAYP Xtra
  • Youth Project Award - Prestwick Academy MVP Mentors
  • Phoenix Award - Mohammed Ibrahim Mohammed
  • Overall Young Star Award - Heather Cochrane

This event was hosted by South Ayrshire Council's Thriving Communities - Communities Team and supported by local youth volunteers.

Ayr Advertiser:

Members of local youth clubs took part in a survey to vote on awards categories, theme, venue, and programme of events.

A Youth Volunteer Planning Group was set up to finalise the plans for the event using the results of the survey.

Jane Bradley, Director of Communities and Transformation, opened the ceremony before passing over to host Mark Thorburn, a former Youth Forum member and Youth Awards host, who has found success on social media in recently years with 4.1 million likes on his social media account.

The awards were presented by young people from Thriving Communities Youth Voice Groups.

MSYPs Evie Tougher for Ayr and Zara McFarlane Youth Volunteer for Carrick Cumnock Doon Valley constituencies closed the ceremony.

The judging panel consisted of a range of council and third sector partners, as well as a local modern apprentice.

Councillor Stephen Ferry, portfolio holder for Education said: "Its inspiring to see young people within our community recognised for all of their hard work and dedication. Congratulations to the winners - it's well-deserved."