Few who were there will ever forget the Queen's visits to South Ayrshire in 1956 and 1995.

Back in 1956, Her Majesty arrived in Troon, where she was joined by her recent husband The Duke of Edinburgh.

The royal couple arrived at the Burgh of Prestwick’s Municipal Buildings in Links Road to be welcomed by Provost Gilbert Steele.

From Prestwick, the royal couple were driven to Ayr to the County Buildings, where a Guard of Honour by the Ayrshire Yeomanry was given.

A presentation was then given in front of a large crowd.

It was part of a day-long visit by the Queen and Duke of Edinburgh to Ayrshire, also including stops in Ardrossan, Saltcoats, Kilwinning and Irvine.

And then, in 1995, the royal couple made another visit to Ayr, where the Queen offically opened the the Bruce Day Surgery Unit at Ayr Hospital.

A visit to Burns Cottage followed, and then the Queen officially opened the Tam o’ Shanter Experience at Alloway.

Ayr’s Fish Cross was the next stop.

A Guard of Honour was then given by the Ayrshire Yeomanry before the royal couple made their way on foot along the High Street to the Town Hall as they chatted to members of the crowd.

At the Town Hall, they joined the Provost of Kyle and Carrick, Gibson T. MacDonald, and 140 guests for a civic luncheon.