The counting has finished and the newly elected MSP for the Ayr constituency has been announced.

The returning officer has just confirmed that Siobhian Brown of the Scottish Nationalist Party (SNP) has been elected to represent the region at Holyrood.

It’s the first time since 2000 than somebody other than John Scott of the Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party has been voted in.

Ms Brown won by a majority of 170 votes.

Turnout for Ayr this year is 68.4% which is up from 61.1% in 2016.