The candidates who will be standing in the constituency of Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley at this year's Holyrood election have officially been confirmed.

The announcement came today, just over a month before voters head to polling stations to decide who they want to represent them in the next term of the Scottish Parliament.

The electorate, in addition to their constituency vote, will also cast a second vote which will help determine the seven regional list MSPs in the South Scotland region, which includes South and East Ayrshire.

The candidates for the Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley constituency are:

  • Sharon Dowey, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
  • Kirsten Herbst-Gray, Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Carol Ann Mochan, Scottish Labour Party
  • Elena Whitham, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Voting gets under way at 7am on Thursday, May 6, with polling stations remaining open until 10pm.

More information on the Scottish Parliamentary Election can be found here.