The candidates standing in May's Scottish Parliamentary Election have been confirmed after nominations closed at 4pm today.

Most voters in South Ayrshire will elect an MSP in the Ayr constituency. Some however, will fall under the Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley constituency area.

The electorate, in addition to their constituency vote, will also cast a second vote which will help determine the seven regional list MSPs in the South Scotland region, which includes South and East Ayrshire.

The candidates for the Ayr constituency are as follows:

  • Chic Brodie - Scotia Future
  • Esther Clark - Scottish Labour Party
  • Siobhian Brown - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Jamie Ross - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • John Scott - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Voting gets under way at 7am on Thursday, May 6, with polling stations remaining open until 10pm.

Those wishing to find out more about registering to vote – including obtaining a postal vote – can find out more information by contacting the Electoral Registration Office at