AYR Seaforth AC were represented when the National Cross Country Relay Championships took place at the usual venue in Cumbernauld.

While conditions underfoot were slightly firmer than usual, the course with its undulating terrain, still proved a very difficult test for the 2600 athletes who had entered.

This is a team event with junior teams consisting of three athletes who each run over a 2500m course and teams are made up of a U13, who hands over to either another U13 or U15 who in turn hand over to either a U15 or U17. The Senior Women’s teams have four runners over a 4000m course with the Senior Men also having four athletes over a 4000m course.

First up on the day was the Young Females where Seaforth had a commendable 12th place finish with the team of Islay Hubbard (U13); Rosie Davidson (U15) and Charlotte McDowall (U17). The B Team of Claire McLaughlin (U13); Morven Hubbard (U15) and Evie Mackay (U15) finished in 30th place while the final complete Seaforth team of Emma McMillan (U13); Bethany Alexander (U15) and Isla Kirk (U15) were 62nd. The D Team consisted of a solo runner who was U13 athlete Tess Crooks.

This was followed by the Young Males where the Seaforth A team of Adam Currie (U13); Alex Crooks (U15) and Declan McGhee (U17) were 23rd, the B team of Conor Scobie (U13); Euan Bell (U15) and Scott Sprang (U17) were 42nd followed by the C team of Calum Hannah (U13); Blair Gemmell (U15) and Logan Cotter (U17) in 75th place.

With no Senior Female teams being fielded it was the Senior Males who completed the day's participation for Seaforth.

A massive 88 complete teams finished the race with the Seaforth team of Kenny Neill, Stephen McCrorie, Brian Robinson and Grahame Hopper taking 36th place.