HISTORY was made when Turnberry Golf Club won the Ayrshire Junior team championship title for the first time.

In sunny but increasingly breezy conditions, a 76 by Euan Ferguson and a 74 from Kieren Beauchamp were added to a superb level par 68 from Jack Broun to give Turnberry a team total of 218 and victory by ten shots. In the three score from four format, Kyle Brown's 79 was the non counting score.

Runners-up in the scratch event were defending champions Kilmarnock (Barassie) with Robbie Muir (76), Ewan Milligan (72), Ben Watson (83) and Ross McDonald (80) combining for a team total of 228.

Jack Broun's effort was good enough to win him the Prestwick Circuits Trophy for the best individual scratch score of the day.

In the handicap event, David Stark of Caprington posted a nett 64 off his 11 handicap in the first match of the day, which remained unbeaten all day, giving him the Carrick Trophy for the best individual nett score. Jamie McKinnon added a nett 73 and Cameron Shanks a nett 81 but the efforts of Jack Park, playing off 25, in returning a nett 67 ensured that the host club would win the Andrew D Nimmo Trophy for the best handicap team return of the day with 204.

Park also won the prize for the best nett score returned from the 10-28 handicap bracket whilst Ewan Milligan took the 0-9 handicap prize with a nett 69.

The Competition Standard Scratch score for the competition remained at 69 for all competitors.

Ayrshire Golf Association President John Rushbury and Caprington GC Captain Hugh McIntosh presented the prizes and trophies to the successful players and teams.